Certified Specialist

February 18th, 2015


David D. Brannon now Board Certified as a Certified Specialist in Estate Planning, Trust and Probate Law by the Ohio State Bar Association

On January 12, 2015, The Ohio State Bar Association announced that it certified six attorneys in Estate Planning, Trust, and Probate Law as specialists, including David D. Brannon. There are not many attorneys that maintain this certification. When clients seek counsel involving estate planning, trust, or probate work, look for this certification. Only certified specialists are permitted to use the OSBA logo:

From the OSBA’s news release, all attorneys licensed to practice law in Ohio must have graduated from an accredited law school and passed the Ohio bar exam. Some attorneys who devote a large part of their practice to a particular area of the law may choose to go beyond these requirements to earn specialty certification. To become a certified specialist, an attorney must:

  • Demonstrate substantial and continuing involvement in a particular filed of law;
  • Submit references from other lawyers and judges attesting to their competency in the specialty area;
  • Attend immediate or advanced continuing legal education;
  • Remain in good standing with the Supreme Court of Ohio;
  • Maintain minimum professional liability insurance coverage; and
  • Pass a written examination in the specialty area.

The Supreme Court of Ohio Commission on Certification of Attorneys as Specialists accredits non-profit organizations to certify Ohio attorneys as specialists. The organizations undergo a rigorous and continuous review for compliance with the standards established for certification. The Ohio State Bar Association (OSBA) is the largest certifying agency.